RulingsUpkeep Nyx-Fleece Ram / Skullcrack

Questions and answers about Magic card rules

Moderator: hamfactorial

shortcutter
Newcomer
Posts: 24
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:27 am

Upkeep Nyx-Fleece Ram / Skullcrack

Post #1 by shortcutter » Wed May 07, 2014 2:02 am

Hello,

I have a couple of questions regarding this combination of cards.

1) If my opponent has Nyx-Fleece Ram in play, I pass and it goes to his turn. On his upkeep he gains 1 life. Can I respond to this with Skullcrack on his upkeep to prevent the life gain?

2) Let's say he gains the 1 life during his upkeep and I end up casting Skullcrack later in the turn Main 1, Combat, or Main 2 phase, etc. Does this essentially make the opponent take the 1 life off that he gained during upkeep, since Skullcrack says players can't gain life this turn.

Thank you.

User avatar
montu
Regular Member
Posts: 262
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:32 am
Location: Neenah, WI
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Post #2 by montu » Wed May 07, 2014 2:10 am

The triggered ability goes on the stack, so it can be responded to with Skullcrack.

If you play Skullcrack after the life gain has resolved, they keep it.

shortcutter
Newcomer
Posts: 24
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:27 am

Post #3 by shortcutter » Wed May 07, 2014 2:33 am

Thank you montu!

User avatar
hamfactorial
Tire Aficionado
Posts: 8400
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:57 am
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 494 times

Post #4 by hamfactorial » Wed May 07, 2014 2:42 am

montu knows his stuff :sherlock:

Alex
Not Even MAD
Posts: 4202
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 6:50 pm
Medals: 1
:
Failure of Page 109
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 242 times

Post #5 by Alex » Wed May 28, 2014 6:56 am

Also, if you play it during their upkeep, it prevents them from gaining life for the rest of that turn.

It does not, however, reverse lifegain that has already happened. So if you cast it later into their turn, they get to keep the 1 life they gained earlier from the sheep.

Adalbald77
Newcomer
Posts: 2
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:40 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Upkeep Nyx-Fleece Ram / Skullcrack

Post #6 by Adalbald77 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 9:49 pm

Alex » Wed May 28, 2014 6:56 am wrote:Also, if you play it during their upkeep, it prevents them from gaining life for the rest of that turn.

It does not, however, reverse lifegain that has already happened. So if you cast it later into their turn, they get to keep the 1 life they gained earlier from the sheep.

Hum, I don't agree with you :/

User avatar
Stardust
Oozes fabulousness!!!
Posts: 5910
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:56 pm
Medals: 2
:
Failure of Page 109 Scourge of Page 109
Has thanked: 56 times
Been thanked: 292 times

Upkeep Nyx-Fleece Ram / Skullcrack

Post #7 by Stardust » Wed Sep 07, 2016 7:13 pm

You probably should since he's right.
҉


Return to “Rulings”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest