RulingsExquisite Blood and Sanguine Bond

Questions and answers about Magic card rules

Moderator: hamfactorial

User avatar
Pendulum
Tire Aficionado
Posts: 4359
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:51 am
Medals: 3
:
Silver Pioneer Failure of Page 109
Has thanked: 453 times
Been thanked: 418 times

Exquisite Blood and Sanguine Bond

Post #1 by Pendulum » Thu Aug 08, 2013 4:53 pm

exquisite blood
sanguine bond

Someone want to adjudicate this for me? Does the combo work or does the game end in a draw thanks to infinite triggers?
Image

Jack
Tire Aficionado
Posts: 2667
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 2:36 am
Has thanked: 171 times
Been thanked: 151 times

Post #2 by Jack » Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:08 pm

It's not infinite triggers, since after they've gone down to zero, you no longer have an opponent and sanguine bond can't find a target. So it works.
Image
Sig by NBW.

User avatar
Alex
Not Even MAD
Posts: 4236
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 6:50 pm
Medals: 1
:
Failure of Page 109
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 242 times

Post #3 by Alex » Sat Aug 17, 2013 2:54 pm

Most "infinite triggers" are not infinite, you just pick an arbitrarily large number and then elect to miss a trigger. In this case, due to state based actions, you can't draw the game because as soon as your opponent hits zero life, the game ends. Basically every time priority is passed, state based actions check, and if your opponent is at 0, they lose before you regain priority, which means your triggers don't get a chance to go off again.


Return to “Rulings”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests