RulingsMonstrosity issue

Questions and answers about Magic card rules

Moderator: hamfactorial

User avatar
Wraith223
Tire Aficionado
Posts: 1312
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:31 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 17 times

Monstrosity issue

Post #1 by Wraith223 » Sun Nov 24, 2013 6:25 pm

So I a playing FNM Sealed and my opponent has Hundred Handed One. I have many flyers ready to swing lethal, and my opponent is short one mana to Monstrosity his dude. He tries to play a card I can't remember that puts a +1=1 counter on it and claims the reach ability is Activated due the counter activating Monstrosity. I counter it anyway and kill him. My question is on Monstrosity static abilities being activated by the +1+1 counter? I claim Bull shit as the ability says "when it become monstrous".
Author of Gunning for Tactical/Practical - viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2103
Current Decks
Commander- Kaalia (Dega) and Nekusar (Grixis)
Modern- UB Faeries and Splinter Twin
Standard- Mono-black Devotion
redthirst » Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:53 pm wrote:You drive badass things.

Image
Xenphire Sig.

Blackhound
prinny dood!
Posts: 2448
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 8:03 pm
Medals: 1
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 104 times

Post #2 by Blackhound » Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:13 pm

You claiming bullshit was correct.

User avatar
Wraith223
Tire Aficionado
Posts: 1312
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:31 pm
Location: Dallas, Texas
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 17 times

Post #3 by Wraith223 » Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:31 pm

The shop owner claimed that Wizards said it works, but I have yet to find said "Wizard's Ruling". The way I read it; Monstrosity should be activated to become Monstrous (should read "has Monstrosity", but no one asked me in development) in order to receive said static abilities. +1+1 Counters are just icing on the cake and not the means to monstrosity.
Author of Gunning for Tactical/Practical - viewtopic.php?f=23&t=2103
Current Decks
Commander- Kaalia (Dega) and Nekusar (Grixis)
Modern- UB Faeries and Splinter Twin
Standard- Mono-black Devotion
redthirst » Wed Nov 06, 2013 3:53 pm wrote:You drive badass things.

Image
Xenphire Sig.

phoenixdrakenfire
One Post Wonder
Posts: 1
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 2:45 am

Post #4 by phoenixdrakenfire » Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:28 am

701.28. Monstrosity

701.28a “Monstrosity N” means “If this permanent isn’t monstrous, put N +1/+1 counters on it and
it becomes monstrous.” Monstrous is a condition of that permanent that can be referred to by
other abilities.

Monstrous isn't a static ability, it's just a description of a characteristic of that monster. You are correct on calling bs. Monstrosity is under Keyword Abilities in the comprehensive rules. It's also an activated ability. Merely putting a +1/+1 counter on it doesn't give it monstrous.

User avatar
DarthStabber
Tire Aficionado
Posts: 1336
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 9:39 am
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Post #5 by DarthStabber » Wed Mar 05, 2014 8:15 pm

The original wording of monstrosity in design was 'once per game', the +1/+1 counters were added to help with the memory issues, but theoretically are not required for a monsterosity ability. By adding +1/+1 counters to it solved both the memory issue and allowed for simpler common monsters that would not be red flagged by NWO.

So technically they could have done
Steve (r)
Creature - weasel
(1)(r)Monstrosity 0.
When steve becomes monstrous it deals 2 damage to target creature or player.
1/1
Image
thanks to nbw for the sig.
redthirst » Mon Nov 18, 2013 8:18 pm wrote:You do need to try to gay it up a little more.

You're like the least gay member of this clan.

And that's counting the fact that you voluntarily have sex with men.


Return to “Rulings”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests