RulingsScrying

Questions and answers about Magic card rules

Moderator: hamfactorial

shortcutter
Newcomer
Posts: 24
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:27 am

Scrying

Post #1 by shortcutter » Sat Feb 22, 2014 3:41 am

If I cast Titan's Strength and my opponent responds by destroying my creature before Titan's Strength can resolve, do I still scry?

User avatar
hamfactorial
Tire Aficionado
Posts: 8400
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:57 am
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 496 times

Post #2 by hamfactorial » Sat Feb 22, 2014 5:26 pm

A spell with the word "target" will check the legality of that target twice, once on casting and once during resolution. If your opponent kills the creature, Titan's Strength will check the target on resolution and be countered because of no legal targets. You won't get to scry 1.

shortcutter
Newcomer
Posts: 24
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:27 am

Post #3 by shortcutter » Sat Feb 22, 2014 8:07 pm

hamfactorial - thank you for the information. That makes sense.

User avatar
hamfactorial
Tire Aficionado
Posts: 8400
(View: All /In topic)
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:57 am
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 496 times

Post #4 by hamfactorial » Sat Feb 22, 2014 8:18 pm

You're welcome :jam:


Return to “Rulings”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests